# How can I find how long a lab will be saved for? The length of time a lab is saved is determined by several factors, among them: a user's roles, the type of learning (Instructor-led vs. Self-paced) and class sessions scheduled. Standard lab saves are as follows: - Users with the **Operations Manager** role can save 2 labs for 7 days. - Users with an **Instructor** role can save 5 labs for 7 days. - Students can save up to 2 labs: - Self-paced learning through a course assignment provides 7-day lab saves - Instructor-led training scheduled on consecutive class days has 2-day lab saves - Instructor-led training scheduled on non-consecutive class days has 7-day lab saves ## Class Sessions The way that class sessions are scheduled directly affects lab save times. When setting up sessions for a class, we recommend using the **Add Multiple Session Times** link when a class meets for more than one day. The TMS uses sessions to determine lab save times for students. If a class has sessions on consecutive days, student labs are saved for 2 days. If a class has sessions on nonconsecutive days, student labs are saved for 7 days. These are the standard labs saves applied across the TMS, however, there are exceptions. For example, this does not apply to all courses; courses using Public IP Addresses require a lab save every 3 days. We can set up lab saves outside of these defaults for special circumstances when necessary. If you need labs in a class to be saved for a different time period, please submit a Support ticket at [**https://lod.one/help**](https://lod.one/help). ## View Lab Save Time If you want to see if labs in a particular class can be saved and if so, for how long: 1. Impersonate a user in the appropriate role. 1. Navigate to the student **Class Enrollment** or the **Class** page (depending on the role). 1. Expand the **Activities** area and click **Launch** for any lab. 1. Once the lab has started, locate the **Exit** menu. 1. If the lab is unable to be saved, you will see **End Lab**. 1. If the lab is able to be saved, you will see **Save and Close Lab**. 1. Click **Save and Close Lab**. - A Confirm Save dialog box will appear. In it will be the amount of time the lab will be saved and its expiration date and time. 1. Click **Cancel**. To close the lab without saving: 1. Click **Cancel Lab** on the **Exit** menu. 1. Click **Yes, cancel my lab**.